Tuesday, March 28, 2023
19.7 C

Donor confidence in Malawi...

Malawians have every reason to smile following the restoration of donor confidence in their government, with the World Bank being the latest bilateral partner to commit financial resources to the Malawi Government.

Mwanamvekha urges cyclone Freddy...

Presidential candidate for the former governing Democratic Progressive Party (DPP), Joseph Mwanamvekha, has advised survivors of Tropical Cyclone Freddy to take proper care of their children and send them to school once schools open.

NICE, religious leaders preach...

National Initiative for Civic Education (NICE) Public Trust and religious leaders in Balaka have decried the tendency by politicians to politicize national development programmes, stressing this suffocates efforts and energies invested to achieve them.

APM admits he has...

Former President Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika has admitted for the first time since he was booted out of power in June 2020 that he has no solutions to the social and economic challenges weighing down Malawians at the moment.
HomePoliticsKazako, Kaliati, Mkaka,...

Kazako, Kaliati, Mkaka, others axed from cabinet

Posted in

President Lazarus Chakwera has announced a new cabinet which has been reduced by 13% compared to the previous cabinet.

{loadmoduleid 115}

In a statement signed by Secretary to the President and Cabinet Colleen Zamba, the president has removed ministerial positions from his office and the office of the vice president, and the cabinet is effective 31st January 2023.

{loadmoduleid 115}

In the new cabinet which has a 40% gender balance, President Chakwera has axed outspoken Minister of Information and Government Spokesperson Gospel Kazako, Minister of Gender and Community Development Patricia Kaliati, Minister of National Unity Timothy Mtambo, Minister of Natural Resources and Climate Change Eisenhower Mkaka, Minister of Mining Albert Mbawala, Minister of Trade Mark Katsonga, and Minister of Local Government Blessings Chinsinga.

Kazako – Has failed to make it into the new cabinet

{loadmoduleid 115}

Chakwera has also brought in new faces in the name of Moses Kunkuyu who has replaced Kazako as Minister of Information, Owen Chomanika who is deputizing Richard Chimwendo Banda at the Local Government, Unity, and Culture, Ken Zikhale Ng’oma has replaced Jean Sendeza at the Ministry of Homeland Security who has been moved to head the Ministry of Gender.

{loadmoduleid 115}

Other new faces are Uchizi Mkandawire, who is heading the Ministry of Youth and Sports, and Simplex Chithyola is now the Minister of Trade and Industry.

Kunkuyu has replaced Kazako as Minister of Information

Madalisto Kambauwa Wirrima who was fired as Deputy Minister of Agriculture has been appointed Minister of Education, deputized by Nancy Chaola Mdooko.

Full list of new cabinet ministers. 

{loadmoduleid 115}
1. President of the Republic of Malawi, Commander-in-Chief of the Malawi Defence Force, His Excellency Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera.
{loadmoduleid 115}

2. Vice President of the Republic of Malawi, Right Honourable Dr. Saulos Klaus Chilima.
3. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Hon. Sosten Gwengwe, MP.
{loadmoduleid 115}

4. Minister of Foreign Affairs – Hon. Nancy Tembo, MP.
5. Minister of Agriculture – Hon. Sam Kawale, MP.
6. Minister of Natural Resources and Climate Change – Hon. Michael Usi.
{loadmoduleid 115}

7. Minister of Local Government, Unity, and Culture – Hon. Richard Chimwendo Banda, MP.
8. Minister of Justice – Hon. Titus Mvalo.
9. Minister of Homeland Security – Hon. Dr. Ken Zikhale Ng’oma, MP.
{loadmoduleid 115}

10.Minister of Health – Hon. Khumbize Kandodo Chiponda, MP.
11.Minister of Trade and Industry – Hon. Simplex Chithyola, MP.
12.Minister of Youth and Sports – Hon. Uchizi Mkandawire, MP.
13.Minister of Education – Hon. Madalitso Wirima Kambauwa, MP.
14.Minister of Transport and Public Works – Hon. Jacob Hara, MP.
15.Minister of Mining – Hon. Monica Chang’anamuno, MP.
{loadmoduleid 115}

16.Minister of Tourism – Hon. Vera Kamtukule.

Kamtukule – moved to the Ministry of Tourism

17.Minister of Gender – Hon Jean Muonaowauza Sendeza, MP.
18.Minister of Labour – Hon. Agnes Makonda Nyalonje.
19.Minister of Defence – Hon. Harry Mkandawire.
20.Minister of Water and Sanitation – Hon. Abida Mia, MP.
21.Minister of Energy – Hon. Ibrahim Matola.
{loadmoduleid 115}

22.Minister of Lands – Hon. Deus Gumba, MP.
23.Minister of Information – Hon. Moses Kumkuyu.
24.Deputy Minister of Local Government, Unity, and Culture – Hon. Owen Chomanika, MP.
25.Deputy Minister of Health – Hon. Halima Alima Daud, MP.
26.Deputy Minister of Education – Hon. Nancy Chaola Mdooko, MP.
27.Deputy Minister of Water and Sanitation – Hon. Liana Kakhobwe Chapota, MP.


More from this Author

Governance experts fault Tonse Govt for appointing Kayuni as PS

Governance experts Victor Chipofya and George Phiri have faulted the Tonse Alliance government for appointing former Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), Dr. Steven William Kayuni, as Principal Secretary for the Ministry of Homeland Security.

President Chakwera, ITU Secretary General Doreen Bogdan-Martin discuss digital transformation for Malawi

Malawi President Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera on Monday afternoon held discussions with Secretary General of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), Ms. Doreen Bogdan-Martin, on how Malawi and ITU can work together to develop information communication technology (ICT) in the country.

Paak Foundation targets 100 underprivileged communities with improved water access

After successfully opening a free tailoring school at Nsaru Trading Centre in Lilongwe, Paak Foundation has now disclosed plans to drill and install a borehole each in 100 underprivileged rural communities across Malawi.