Kazako, Kaliati, Mkaka, others axed from cabinet

President Lazarus Chakwera has announced a new cabinet which has been reduced by 13% compared to the previous cabinet.

In a statement signed by Secretary to the President and Cabinet Colleen Zamba, the president has removed ministerial positions from his office and the office of the vice president, and the cabinet is effective 31st January 2023.

In the new cabinet which has a 40% gender balance, President Chakwera has axed outspoken Minister of Information and Government Spokesperson Gospel Kazako, Minister of Gender and Community Development Patricia Kaliati, Minister of National Unity Timothy Mtambo, Minister of Natural Resources and Climate Change Eisenhower Mkaka, Minister of Mining Albert Mbawala, Minister of Trade Mark Katsonga, and Minister of Local Government Blessings Chinsinga.

Kazako – Has failed to make it into the new cabinet

Chakwera has also brought in new faces in the name of Moses Kunkuyu who has replaced Kazako as Minister of Information, Owen Chomanika who is deputizing Richard Chimwendo Banda at the Local Government, Unity, and Culture, Ken Zikhale Ng’oma has replaced Jean Sendeza at the Ministry of Homeland Security who has been moved to head the Ministry of Gender.

Other new faces are Uchizi Mkandawire, who is heading the Ministry of Youth and Sports, and Simplex Chithyola is now the Minister of Trade and Industry.

Kunkuyu has replaced Kazako as Minister of Information

Madalisto Kambauwa Wirrima who was fired as Deputy Minister of Agriculture has been appointed Minister of Education, deputized by Nancy Chaola Mdooko.

Full list of new cabinet ministers. 

1. President of the Republic of Malawi, Commander-in-Chief of the Malawi Defence Force, His Excellency Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera.

2. Vice President of the Republic of Malawi, Right Honourable Dr. Saulos Klaus Chilima.
3. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Hon. Sosten Gwengwe, MP.

4. Minister of Foreign Affairs – Hon. Nancy Tembo, MP.
5. Minister of Agriculture – Hon. Sam Kawale, MP.
6. Minister of Natural Resources and Climate Change – Hon. Michael Usi.

7. Minister of Local Government, Unity, and Culture – Hon. Richard Chimwendo Banda, MP.
8. Minister of Justice – Hon. Titus Mvalo.
9. Minister of Homeland Security – Hon. Dr. Ken Zikhale Ng’oma, MP.

10.Minister of Health – Hon. Khumbize Kandodo Chiponda, MP.
11.Minister of Trade and Industry – Hon. Simplex Chithyola, MP.
12.Minister of Youth and Sports – Hon. Uchizi Mkandawire, MP.
13.Minister of Education – Hon. Madalitso Wirima Kambauwa, MP.
14.Minister of Transport and Public Works – Hon. Jacob Hara, MP.
15.Minister of Mining – Hon. Monica Chang’anamuno, MP.

16.Minister of Tourism – Hon. Vera Kamtukule.

Kamtukule – moved to the Ministry of Tourism

17.Minister of Gender – Hon Jean Muonaowauza Sendeza, MP.
18.Minister of Labour – Hon. Agnes Makonda Nyalonje.
19.Minister of Defence – Hon. Harry Mkandawire.
20.Minister of Water and Sanitation – Hon. Abida Mia, MP.
21.Minister of Energy – Hon. Ibrahim Matola.

22.Minister of Lands – Hon. Deus Gumba, MP.
23.Minister of Information – Hon. Moses Kumkuyu.
24.Deputy Minister of Local Government, Unity, and Culture – Hon. Owen Chomanika, MP.
25.Deputy Minister of Health – Hon. Halima Alima Daud, MP.
26.Deputy Minister of Education – Hon. Nancy Chaola Mdooko, MP.
27.Deputy Minister of Water and Sanitation – Hon. Liana Kakhobwe Chapota, MP.

Sosten Mpinganjira

Sosten Mpinganjira is a news reporter with a track record of delivering timely and accurate news stories. With vast experience working with renowned news electronic, press, and online outlets, he has honed his reporting skills and has a deep understanding of the media landscape. He has a knack for delivering breaking news with accuracy and insight. He is dedicated to keeping his readers informed about current events and trends that shape our world.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Nthanda Times

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker